Week One

Here we are at the start of a new term; all new classes, all new avenues of exploration. And, of course, frustration. I am bracing myself for this class; modeling and 3D art is confusing to me, especially when we’re going further than, I dunno, boxes. The prospect of modeling my own character is kind of frightening to me, to be perfectly frank. But I’ve got friends with skills, so I can pick up some tutoring from them. And a crap model can look good with the right textures.

Oh please don’t let that be a myth.

Anyway; posts after this are probably going to lack flavor and personality, as we get ready to dive into tons of work for the term. I’ll save myself for the art blog, and just post in the proper, required format, as seen below.

o What stages of the (project) am I on and how is it progressing? How or what could I improve?
This being week one, I’m in the planning stage. I really want to do a Shardmind bard or a Halfling rouge. Or maybe I ought to just model my Tiefling rouge, Håkan, since I know all about her. I like the Shardmind… I like the a lot. I think they’re awesome.

My issue with just going ahead and doing my Tiefling is her horns. I can barely paint horns, much less model them. Since my instructor is cool with Shardmind, I’m probably going to go with that.

o Did I change my (project) milestone goals? If so, why?Being week one, no, I haven’t. I’ve just started pulling myself in half about what to do, which is, heh, common for me.

o How did I deal with the problems that came up?
I think I’m going to flip a coin. I’ll tell ya’ll on Thursday.

o What is working and what is not working in the planning and implementation of the (project)?So far I finds myself entirely capable of sketching both a Tiefling and a Shardmind. So at least there’s that. My D2 will help me choose all the particulars. Maybe I’ll roll a full character sheet if I go with the Shardmind, but then I’ll have to get Brian to help me out again.

o Briefly describe your time spent and any problems (within the team, with a computer, etc)
My time’s been spent reading up on Shardminds. Which opened a whole can of worms because it refreshed my knowledge of the PH3 character races, all of which I love. Man, Githzerai and Wilden are so nifty too. But I’m focusing; I will flip a D2 between Håkan and a Shardmind.

o Evaluate the (project) as a whole including team members, if applicable
Not today, thanks.

Leave a comment